A successful 46th annual Edge of the Cedars Art Show sponsored by Zeta Omicron Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Alpha Sorority has been completed. Seventy artists exhibited a total of 202 entries which included paintings, photography, sculpture, pottery, stained glass and an open category. Attesting to the quality of work exhibited, 67 different entries received votes for the People's Choice Award. In addition to ribbons, a total of 21 monetary awards ranging from $25 to $200 were given. The total amount of cash and gift certificates awarded was $1,275. This was made possible by generous donations from sponsors.

Zeta Omicron presented $750 scholarships to Hannah Hatheway and Elizabeth Wood, both 2018 Cedaredge High School graduates. Hatheway will attend Colorado State University in Fort Collins to further her education. Wood is headed to Western Colorado Community College to study culinary arts.

Judge for this year's show was Eric Elliott, assistant professor of painting at Colorado Mesa University. Elliott grew up in Anchorage, Alaska, received his master of fine arts in painting and drawing at the University of Washington in Seattle, and a bachelor of arts in arts practice at the University of California, Berkeley. He recently had a solo show at Omnia Contemporary gallery in Grand Junction. In 2014 he completed a year-long art residency at the Jerusalem Studio School in Israel.

Judging Results

People's Choice -- Marty Rathburn, Cedaredge, professional oil/acrylic titled "The Listener." Cash award sponsored by Delta County Memorial Hospital and Taylor Funeral Service & Crematory/Chalmer and Marge Swain.

Judge's Best of Show -- Marty Rathburn, Cedaredge, professional oil/acrylic titled "Lost in Thought." Cash award sponsored by Western Rockies Appraisals/Diana Clayton and Double J Disposal/Joe and Judy Leonard.

Best of Professional -- Joe Milich, Cedaredge, oil/acrylic titled "Fiery Sunset." Cash award sponsored by Thelma Starner.

Best of Advanced -- Rich Sprankle, Montrose, pastel titled "The Arrogance of Green." Cash award sponsored by ProSpace Interiors.

Best of Amateur -- Tammy Blanchette, Cedaredge, photograph titled "Curious Buck." Cash award sponsored by Thelma Starner.

Best of Student -- Max Moore, Cedaredge, graphic titled "Hayware Hare." Cash award sponsored by ProSpace Interiors.

Special Awards

Selected by

Individual Sponsors

Dr. Mary Kleinsorge, D.C. -- Cash awards to Sheryl Williams, Delta, professional watercolor titled "Day at the Beach"; Mary Ann Johnson, Austin, amateur oil/acrylic titled "Danielle's Place:"; and Adele Coppers, Clifton, amateur watercolor titled "Holiday Memories."

Thelma Starner -- Cash award to BJ McKinney, Crawford, advanced watercolor titled "The Skeptic."

ProSpace Interiors -- Cash awards to Wanda Brunemeier, Cory, professional watercolor titled "Anyone Home" and Susan Jochum, Cedaredge, professional oil/acrylic titled "Flowers of Winter."

Janice Jones, RE/MAX Mountain West -- Cash award to Larry Dumler, Cedaredge, advanced oil/acrylic titled "Gray Days - Gray Jays."

Benson Brothers -- Cash award to J.C. Vela, Eckert, student photograph titled "The Monster."

Ribbons & Roses Antique Mall, Marcy Peterson -- Cash award to Amarah Thompson, Grand Junction, student sculpture titled "Two Face."

Prosser Family - Short Branch Liquor -- Cash award to Mary Belleville, Cedaredge, advanced stained glass, standing glass lamp.

High Country Shopper -- Cash award to Dana Smith, Aurora, advanced photography titled "Unconditional Love."

Big John's Lumber -- Cash award to Debra Bradley, Eckert, professional sculpture titled "Life is Good."

Vela Ranches - Vela Family -- Cash award to Allen Kettle, Grand Junction, advanced photography titled "Pioneer Fence."

Mattes and More -- Gift certificate to Donna Feller, Grand Junction, advanced photography titled "Garfield Reflects."

Zeta Omicron Chapter ESA -- Cash award to Arlene Law, Glenwood Springs, professional watercolor titled "Stage Stop in Glenwood."

Individual Placings


Oil/acrylic -- Marty Rathburn, Cedaredge, first; Joe Milich, Cedaredge, second; Judy Mraz Campbell, Austin, third; honorable mentions - Arlene Law and Marty Rathburn.

Watermedia -- Roger Milway, Cedaredge, first; Roxanne Morris, Montrose, second; Sheryl Williams, Delta, third; honorable mentions - Lynne Miller and Roger Milway.

Graphics -- Marty Rathburn, Cedaredge, first; Penny Pallister, Mesa, second and third.

Pastels -- Cynthia Sampson, Nucla, first; Amy Daniels, Cedaredge, second; Lindy Palmer, Eckert, third.

Mixed media -- Karen Brueggemann, Cedaredge, first.

Photography -- Roxanne Morris, Montrose, first.

Sculpture -- Daphna Russell, Cedaredge, first and second; Susan Jochum, Cedaredge, third.


Oil/acrylic -- Larry Dumler, Cedaredge, first; Emilie Olbert, Grand Junction, second; Rich Sprankle, Montrose, third; honorable mentions - Terrie Watts and Larry Dumler.

Watermedia -- Barbara Pulin, Montrose, first; BJ McKinney, Crawford, second; Mary Bollig, Delta, third; honorable mentions - Barbara Poulin, Carol Vinz and Judy Chapman.

Graphics -- Jane Fox Armfield, Montrose.

Pastels -- Rich Sprankle, Montrose, first and second; Pamela Lynch, Montrose, third; honorable mention - Rich Sprankle.

Mixed media -- Jane Fox Armfield, Montrose.

Photography -- Dana Smith, Aurora, first and second; Jim Schwietert, Cedaredge, third; honorable mentions - D. Ann Schwietert, Jim Schwietert, Allen Kettle and Donna Faller.

Sculpture -- Charles Holder Jr., Eckert, first.

Pottery -- Debbie Fisher, Grand Junction, first and second.

Stained glass -- Mary Belleville, Cedaredge, first.


Oil/acrylic -- Lin Mussman, Montrose, first; Ellen Brown, Montrose, second; Mary Ann Johnson, Austin, third; honorable mentions - Ellen Brown and Jeannie Gumerson.

Watermedia -- Nancy Carlson, Eckert, first; Adele Coppers, Clifton, second; Marcia Melvin, Cedaredge, third; honorable mentions - Julie Chosvig and Adele Coppers.

Photography -- Tammy Blanchette, Cedaredge, first and third; Frank Muldowney, Eckert, second.


Oil/acrylic -- Kalinn "KK" Komives, Cedar-edge, first; Bryanna Carlson, Eckert, second.

Watercolor -- Grace Hatheway, Cedaredge, first; Kalinn "KK" Komives, Cedaredge, second.

Graphics -- Max Moore, Cedaredge, first and second; Grace Hatheway, Cedaredge, third.

Mixed media -- Amber Swain, Delta, first, second and third.

Photography -- Andrei Gaylord, Brentwood, Tenn., first and second; Hannah Hatheway, Cedaredge, third; honorable mention - Andrei Gaylord.

Digitally enhanced photography -- Mckenzie Moore, Cedaredge, first.

Sculpture -- Amarah Thompson, Grand Junction, first.

Pottery -- Kalinn "KK" Komives, Cedaredge, first; 

Open category -- Grace Hatheway, Cedaredge, first.